Calendar of Events for Southwest Arts Center

September 2014
August 12, 2014 - September 12, 2014
 

SWAC Registration for Fall Classes

Tuesday, August 12 – Friday, September 12

Southwest Arts Center offers a variety of classes in dance, music, theater, and visual arts for all ages and skill levels.  For information on classes and to register, go to More »

August 12, 2014 - September 12, 2014
 

SWAC Registration for Fall Classes

Continuing through Friday, September 12

Southwest Arts Center offers a variety of classes in dance, music, theater, and visual arts for all ages and skill levels.  For information on classes and to register, go to More »

August 12, 2014 - September 12, 2014
 

SWAC Exhibition: ONYXCON

Performance Theater Gallery

Continuing through Friday, September 12

This exhibition features the work of visual artists who are exploring fantasy, science fiction, Afro-futurism, and the vibrancy of comic book art. For gallery… More »

August 15, 2014 - September 12, 2014
 

SWAC Exhibition: ONYXCON

Performance Theater Gallery

Friday, August 15, 6:00 pm – 9:00 pm (opening reception)

Saturday, August 16 – Friday, September 12

This exhibition features the work of visual artists who are exploring fantasy, science fiction,… More »

August 29, 2014 - September 07, 2014
*

SI Communications presents Only Just a Minute

Performance Theater

Friday, August 29 @ 8pm
Saturday, August 30 @ 8pm
Sunday, August 31 @ 3pm

Thursday, September 4 @ 8pm
Friday, September 5 @ 8pm
Saturday, September 6 @ 8pm
Sunday, September 7 @ 3pm

A stirring theatrical production… More »

August 29, 2014 - September 26, 2014
*

SWAC Exhibition: Trading Cards

Black Box

Friday, August 29, 6:00 pm – 9:00 pm (opening reception)

Saturday, August 30 – Friday, September 26

Artist Trading Cards (ATCs) are original, self-produced works of art produced on a 2.5” x 3.5” surface. Artists often… More »

September 06, 2014
 

Young Ladies of Divine Distinction

Black Box

Saturday, September 6, 12:30 pm

Young Ladies of Divine Distinction presents Mothers and Daughters, a female youth enrichment event featuring a celebrity guest speaker, singers, poets, and local musicians.  For more… More »

September 13, 2014
 

Zionward Productions presents Lord, I Believe

Performance Theater

Saturday, September 13, 4:00 pm

Playwright Derrell Owens brings a stirring play about following your dreams to the Southwest Arts Center Performance Theater.  See www.zionwardproductions.com for more information.

September 14, 2014
*

SWAC Junior Dance Company Concert

Performance Theater

Sunday, September 14, 5:00 pm

The Southwest Arts Center Junior Dance Company, under the direction of Tiffany Mingo, presents “Fables, Fantasies, and Fairytales,” a concert showcasing creative works fusing… More »

September 16, 2014 - November 08, 2014
 

SWAC Fall Classes

Tuesday, September 16 – Saturday, November 8

Southwest Arts Center offers a variety of classes in dance, music, theater, and visual arts for all ages and skill levels.  For information on classes and to register, go to More »

September 17, 2014 - September 21, 2014
 

Trey Anthony Productions/Playing with Crayons, Inc. presents Secrets of a Black Boy

Performance Theater

Wednesday, September 17 – Sunday, September 21, 8:00 pm

This brutally honest piece gives voice to five Black men from Toronto whose in-your-face stories are set against the backdrop of the displacement of … More »

September 19, 2014 - October 10, 2014
 

SWAC Exhibition: I Love Black Women: In the Dark, Artist Collaboration: Seve Adigun and Gilbert Young

Performance Theater Gallery

Friday, September 19, 6:00 pm – 9:00 pm (opening reception)

Saturday, September 20 – Friday, October 10

“I Love Black Women: In The Dark” is an examination of high society fashion and the African… More »